Walking on sunshine…

The Cape Town sun graced us with its presence today. You know what that means… that’s right; tiny clothes and flashy sunglasses (emphasis on the tiny clothes (lol). I keep telling my friends my hot pants have magic but they still don’t believe me! Seriously, something out-of-the-ordinary happens every time I wear those babies. Must be something to do with the African curves my mama blessed me with (humble brag).

So I was having the worst afternoon ever! I’d been planning this surprise for a friend this week and today, just as I was picking up the cake from the bakery, they decided they wanted to have a boys-only celebration. I can’t even explain how hurt/furious I was. Especially since they knew exactly how much thought I’d put into the whole thing. I was so upset that I couldn’t even see straight. And I’m not exaggerating.

So there I am, sitting on one of those benches at the mall (right outside a bank) that loners or idlers usually sit at while they watch life pass them by, furiously typing away on my blackberry, trying to cool off when this impeccably dressed, beautiful 30-something white guy walks up to me and says “You made me realise I just might have forgotten my phone in the bank.” I laughed; mostly because that was the most original pick up line I’d ever heard. I told him to check his pockets and quickly got back to molesting the buttons on my phone, just in case he’d only spoken to me because he’d caught me staring at him. I saw him busy himself for a while before I realised he wasn’t doing much. That’s when it hit me that he just might have been thinking of a way to approach me. I chuckled at the thought, though. I mean this is South Africa. White guys don’t randomly walk up to black girls because they look nice. Racism here is still quite a big thing. You’d sooner find a gay couple than an inter-racial one. That’s how bad it is. But before I could finish my thought, Mr Beautiful actually came and took a seat next to me. I ignored him naturally; I was in no mood to be picked up. But his opening line totally blew me away. “Would dinner in Camps Bay change that frown into a smile? It’s a sin to frown on Friday, you know?” How could I not smile? We actually had quite an interesting conversation (FOR THREE HOURS). If you know me, you know it takes an especially interesting person to keep me engaged in a conversation for that long. And yet this random hottie managed to.

I was impressed. Not so much intrigued, though, considering he gave me his entire bio, life story, future plans etc in the short time we spent talking. The only thing I didn’t know about him by the time we parted ways was his salary but judging from his job, car etc, I could almost guess. And I have to admit, the guy was impressive. But I turned down his dinner invitation anyway. In fact I even rejected his offer to drive me home in his flashy BMW *insert BBM cool smiley*. He did manage to turn my frown into a smile though and when I finally saw the birthday boy (yes I called him to come and pick up the cake. Seeing it was going to make me mad all over again!), I was calm and collected.

The bad news, he’s officially ruined birthdays for the rest of you. No more surprises from my end; EVER!

The countdown to summer has OFFICIALLY began *happy dance*.

Leave a Reply

