So I was nominated for the Liebstar award by my former classmate Lindsay (Home, Hugs and Huskies). It’s taken me  while to actually get round to doing it but here goes. Thank you for the nomination Lindsay, and thank you to every single one of you to takes the time to read my blog every day. You keep me going.

Below are my answers to the questions Lindsay asked me, followed by my own nominees nd my questions to them.

  1. What do you think your best quality is?

My compassion/empathy, I think. I’m unable to turn away from someone who is hurting or needs help. It doesn’t matter who you re. And this applies just as much to my friends as it does to people I don’t like. 

 

  1. What did you want to be when you were a child?

For the longest time, I wanted to be a scientist. I was so fascinated by the science of life and how things worked. At first it was farming. I was fascinated by how lifeless seeds turned into plants which then turned into food. I planted EVERYTHING. I had a garden from when I was 4 right until my teens when we moved houses. Then I wanted to be a doctor. A neurosurgeon, to be precise (thank you Ben Carson for that dream). Along the way, I thought about pathology for a while before I settled on psychiatry. Understanding the human mind, human behavior and the reasons behind the reason behind the reason was and still is very fascinating to me.  I was very bad at biology, unfortunately (who wants to learn about plant cells? lol) so there went my dreams of being a psychiatrist. But one day, I hope I will qualify for an honorary degree in psychiatry, just for my interest and research.  There was a point in time when I just wanted to be famous…lol. But I got over that, thank goodness. You can’t put price tag on privacy.

 

  1. What do you like about blogging?

It’s a lovely way to express yourself and also connect with like-minded people. Blogging has opened and continues to open quite a number of exciting opportunities for me and so many others. And through it, I’ve met and discovered so many and so much. Writing has always been my first love so I welcome any opportunity to do so.

 

  1. What do you dislike about blogging?

I can’t decide on a theme!!! I like my theme for a moment and then I want to change it. There’s just so much to choose from which is a problem if you’re indecisive like me. Also, I do most of my writing on paper (I carry a pen and notebook round with me all the time) so a lot of the time, I have to type out my posts which is such a drag because it feels like repetition.

 

  1. What inspires you to write?

Experience. New experiences always inspire me to write.

 

  1. What do you do to snap out of writer’s block?

Watching movies or documentaries about creatives always helps. Sometimes reading my favorite blogs also helps. And in the event that neither works, I go out and do something outside my comfort zone. I’m a creature of habit so I often find myself going to the same places. But when I have writer’s block, I’ll eat somewhere new or try something I usually wouldn’t. It works like a charm!

 

  1. What is your favorite book? Why?

Gosh I’ve read so many beautiful books! It’s so hard to pick one. I have about five favorites that I would read again and again and again. But I’m not about to explain why so instead I’ll tell you about the most recent book I’ve read, americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.  I couldn’t put it down. It’s undoubtedly one of the most beautiful books I’ve read. The story just spoke to me (in more ways than one). If you haven’t already, get yourself a copy and thank me later.

 

  1. Who was a hero in your life? Why?

That would be my mother, definitely! There hasn’t been  time when she has filed to come through for me. I guess she’s supposed to do that… I hope that someday I’ll grow to be the kind of mother to my children that she is to me.

Then there’s my grandmother. Oh what a woman! She’s unbelievably successful. And she’s the sweetest, funniest, most loving woman you’ll ever meet.  A true woman of substance. No amount of tragedy can touch her character. She is GOLD!

And then there’s my god-given hero, my gorgeous sister Claire. God only knows how I would have survived this life without her.  My memories are filled with moment after moment where my sister sacrificed something for me or protected me from something. She never let me worry about anything when we were growing up. To this day, any worries I share with my sister are as good as sorted.

 

  1. If money was no object, what would you be doing?

Sipping on champagne in the South of France. I’d probably hop between Italy, Spain, Argentina, Chile, Australia, California and Cape Town. But the weekends would without a doubt find me in the south of France.

 

  1. If you were a dog, which breed would you be?

Lulu!!! Without  doubt. She’s my dog twin 🙂mADISON COUNTY DOGS 104

Thanks again for the nomination Lindsay!

Here are my ten nominees for the Liebster Blog Award (in no particular order). Don’t worry if you aren’t into awards, I still think you are awesome anyway and people should check out your blog. Feel free to check out the rules below for more information.

 

Questions:

  1. Why do you blog?
  2. What inspires you?
  3. What is the one thing most people don’t know about you?
  4. If you could go anywhere, where would you go?
  5. How do you get over writers block?
  6. If a movie were to be made about your life, what would it be called and who would play you in the movie?
  7. What did you write before you started blogging? (Journal, short stories, nothing…)
  8. Who do you hope reads your blog most or who do you hope doesn’t? (Be sure to specify which you answer!;) )
  9. What is the most thoughtful gift you’ve ever received?
  10. What do you think your best quality is?

liebster-award-rules.jpg

Leave a Reply

