Buying dreams

Hi, my name is Zerida and I buy dreams. Seriously, whatever dream you’re selling, chances are that I’ll buy it. It’s been referred to as a strength many times, but deep down I know it’s a weakness. It’s why I am where I am today. A place I really, really shouldn’t be. 

In case you’re still wondering what I mean when I say I buy dreams,I mean that  I believe in people even when everyone else has given up; even when they’ve previously given me reason not to believe. For as long as I can remember, I’ve had this theory that no one is all bad. I honestly believe that everyone, however bad, has a little good in them. And that every action, however bad, has a logical explanation. Of course sometimes that explanation is that the person is a selfish waste of time, but for some reason, I always stay around to find out. And as a result, I’ve found myself on the receiving end of shattered dreams once too many times. And yet I still believe. 

A wise man once said that fifty bad experiences with fifty different humans shouldn’t set the precedent for how you respond to the 51st person. After all, there are seven billion people in the world. What are the odds that those fifty represent the whole population? 

One day, I’m pretty sure I’ll get it right and that my belief in people and in second chances will pay off. Why can’t we all just say what we mean? If you want something (or don’t, for that matter), just say so! I mean the worst thing that could possibly happen is the other person disagreeing with you. And people don’t die from that. It beats dilly dallying and having people waste so much of their precious time.

In a perfect world, we’d all wear out stories on our foreheads so that the people we meet can ascertain in a minute or two whether they want to get to know us or not. (Yes, that’s me selling you all my dream 🙂 ) How much easier life  would be! Don’t you agree? ‎

Leave a Reply

