JUST a little more hope lost

I lost a fraction of the little hope I had in humanity today. What’s wrong with the world? What happened to honour and empathy and chivalry? What happened to giving a rat’s behind about the plight of your neighbour, your neighbour’s neighbour and all their relatives? Where is that little part of us that cares what anyone other than ourselves is going through?

Show me a person who still cares and I’ll point you in the direction of a very fancy museum where they should be kept and labelled “very precious extinct species”.

My heart broke a little bit today when I heard news that the one couple I’d grown to admire and respect over a ten year period broke up. Just like that, it was all over. It got me thinking about how I’d feel if the love of my life walked away from me without a second glance after ten years. Betrayal wouldn’t even cut it. I mean, do you learn to trust again? Do you get over it? Shouldn’t there be a point past which can be referred to as the “no-return zone”. If someone throws ten years of your life back in your face, how do you do it again? What does it take these days? Twenty? Or is it a never-ending abyss of not knowing? If it were happening to me, I’d call it a wrap. I don’t see how I’d ever be able to do it again. So my empathetic self is here co-miserating with the heartbroken love birds…

O Empathy, come back to us! Humanity is LOST without you.

Leave a Reply

