the stuff no one tells you

I had trouble keeping up in my first days in my child development class. Everything was simply to organised. Every single activity for the year was neatly broken up into almost hour-by-hour steps. It seemed retarded almost. How was a normal adult supposed to keep up? I knew I couldn’t! I think it was like day 5 when my lecturer asked if she could help me in anyway. I couldn’t even compose the question I wanted to ask. How do I start explaining that the order disoriented me because I wasn’t used to everything being so organised? After a few minutes of playing around with the question in an attempt to phrase it in a way that would make even the least bit of sense to anyone that wasn’t me, I gave up and said it as it was; “I can’t keep up with all this order! Its confusing!”
I looked down at the floor where I expected to find her jaw but apparently this was neither new nor surprising. On the contrary, she was amused. She quietly asked what the inside of my bag looked like. I wasn’t so sure where she was going with it but I hesitated to open my bag until she gave me a little more. “In most cases, people who have the same complaint you have have a messy environment. Their bags and rooms are messes. The order in your environment is directly proportional to the order in your head. Chances are that you’re forgetful and have a short attention span and have trouble concentrating so that if you do concentrate and someone breaks your concentration, that will probably be it for the day.”
I was in awe. She had just described me! All those years I spent thinking I had ADD and it all came down to the fact that I’d missed my sensitive period for order (0-3years where I could have learnt it unconsciously I.e. Effortlessly). After that, learning order would have to be a conscious effort. And when you out your environment in order, the chaos in your head sorts itself out too. You think more clearly, concentrate easier and for much longer and you forget less. I’ve spent the last month reading up every medical journal I could find on the topic, some dating back as far as the 1800s and as it turns out, its been [medically] proven over generations. Children NEED order to reach their full potential. They need order to stay sane. And routine is step one to order. I wish this stuff was taught in school. Unfortunately, by the time your child gets to the school-going age, their sensitive period for order is gone (0-3years) and once a sensitive period is gone, its gone forever.

And now you know.

Thank me later!xxx

Leave a Reply

