How to Love.

“4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 8 Love never fails.”

This is my all-time favourite Bible verse. Every time I read this scripture, I’m reminded of all the wrong places Hollywood points us in under the guise of helping in our pursuit of true love. Not once did Apostle Peter mention romance. Not once did he mention good looks or “chemistry”. Did he forget the most important factors? Or is this all the proof we need that these factors are indeed immaterial?
Today someone asked me why I can’t watch 50 first dates or any other hollywood love story. I told them its coz I think they’re corny which is funny coz I redefine corny. But the truth is, I don’t agree with the hollywood depiction of true love because its everything the 1Corinthians love isn’t. Its impatient, jealous, not always kind, it keeps account of injury, dishonest and leaves before it’s left. It portrays the patient and kind as weaklings in a world where only the fittest survive. It encourages the occasional dishonesty, of course only when necessary but you get to choose when its necessary meaning you can be dishonest pretty much anytime. Its confusing. It leaves me battling with my instincts. I want to give with everything I’ve got. I want to love and trust and hope and protect. But Hollywood says “leave room for doubt”, going further to plant all sorts of possibilities in your mind. The Bible says love “always hopes” but Hollywood says hope means setting yourself up for disappointment. In other words, don’t hope. Afterall, forewarned is fore armed, right? I want to encourage and support. To love and cherish. But Hollywood says I should only give as good as I get. The scripture doesn’t give conditions. It doesn’t say be kind only if they’re kind to you. It simply states the qualities love possesses irrespective of whether or not they are reciprocated. And the most powerful bit “it always hopes, always endures”. That means even when times are tough, even when the other person seems undeserving, the mere fact that you chose them out of a multitude, that you once thought them worthy and deserving should give you the strength to carry on. There are voices left right and centre telling us how to love. Which one will you listen to? Lil Wayne’s?

Leave a Reply

